CSC Bylaws Committee Meeting 07/26/2012 2:00PM

Present: Pat Brumleve, Tina Gerecke, Carolin Harvey, Karin McClure, Jason Phillips Absent: Regina Brown

The committee began by electing Karin McClure as chair for 2012-2013. We then discussed changing the bylaws to reflect the elimination of the Outstanding Civil Service Employee Award. We propose the following changes to the bylaws:

"Outstanding Civil Service Employee Award" will be removed from Article V, Section I.A. All of Article V, Section I.G.6, which refers to the responsibilities of the "Outstanding Civil Service Employee Award" committee will also be removed. It should be noted that the new Faculty/Staff Excellence Award will remain on our regular Council meeting agenda under Constituency, Special and Other Committees.

In another discussion it was decided that Article V, Section I.G.5.c should also be removed from the bylaws. This section currently states that Executive Committee members shall "not have more than two unexcused consecutive absences per Council year". The committee felt that this section was ambiguous and also unnecessary given that no other council committees have explicit attendance requirements.

The meeting adjourned at 3:15PM.

Submitted by Jason Phillips